SEX. Drugs. Cell Phone Usage.

image

Adding internet to the phone is the best and the worst thing to happen to society and parents.

Raising teens is tough. Dare I say it…it’s a bit more difficult than toddlers. The great debate teens or toddlers! I mean hands down in the diapering and potty training area I will deal with a mood swing any day of the week. Having said that do I have to deal with mood swings every day of the week? I mean theirs tons that people do not tell you about giving birth or babies and theirs less info about teens. Like for instance you should start prepping for your child’s teen-hood when they are 10. I’ve got 2 teens and I’m under 35. At this point it doesn’t really matter how old I am or feel. I forget half the time and have to remind myself how old my daughter is then do the math. Then remind myself how young I was when I started having kids. It’s a whole If You Give A Mouse a Cookie type thing. Not always good for my self-esteem.

Having “The Talk” with my kids hasn’t been something that is hard for me to do. Awkward? Absolutely. Talking about a Sexually Transmitted Diseased Penis isn’t something I look forward to talking about with my sons let-alone my daughters but it needs to be done. So boom I’ve got the sex talk thing down.
Keep an open conversation.
Check. Respect their thoughts. Check.
Talk honestly. Check.

Same with the “Drug Talk”. This is something I take very seriously. For whatever reason mental health issues and drug abuse run in my gene pool. Not something I’m proud of but it is what it is.

Talking about not only the dangers of street drugs BUT how prescription drugs can be just as dangerous. Mom is prescribed those antidepressants for a reason. Don’t f**k that up kid. I would never say that…It’s just implied.Wink.Wink. JK. JK.

By the time your 13-year-old becomes 15 you think you’ve gotten most of it down.
Sex talk. Check.
Drug talk. Check.
Personal Hygiene. Check.
Cell phone…wait. WTF!

Kids don’t have journals they keep their inner most private details hidden in the depths of the cell phone-that we the parents pay for then they share it with the world through social media and hashtags. Then scrolling through your IG account you see that your teen takes selfies in the bathroom or worse in the middle of class. You can see the teacher blurred through editing and filters. Again I say-WTF! You’ve got to be freak’n Nancy Drew. Checking on their Twitter and Snapchat and IG which by the way all of that I have. You got to block sites like ask.fm and ask your kid to please stop doing surprise photos of you then posting them…THAT is defiantly not good for my self-esteem. Not only do you have your parenting and morals challenged by your family you’ve got stand up to Two Chanz and Drake. Don’t get me wrong I do appreciate Drake’s love for BBW’s like myself but I’ve got to teach my sons to respect women. Where is the parenting book on Sex, Drugs, and Cell phone Usage?

Leave a Reply

